Russian aggression against Ukraine: EU targets 65 people and 18 additional entities


The Council decided today to impose restrictive measures on another 65 people and 18 entities in response to Russia’s continued unjustified and unprovoked military aggression against Ukraine and other actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. This decision is part of the sixth comprehensive set of sanctions adopted by the Council earlier today.

There can be no impunity for war crimes. We are today adding to our sanctions lists those responsible for allowing this unjustified war and the war crimes committed in Bucha and Mariupol, adding more people from the military and economic elites and people close to President Putin supporting its illegitimate aggression against the Ukrainian people.

Josep Borrell, High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

The 65 people listed include the military personnel who led the actions of Russian army units that killed, raped and tortured civilians in Ukraine in Bucha, including Colonel Azatbek Omurbekov, nicknamed the ‘Butcher of Bucha’.. The list also includes those responsible for the inhuman siege of the city of Mariupol, including Colonel-General Mikhail Mizintsev, nicknamed the ‘Mariupol Butcher’and those who participated in the creation of the so-called Salvation Committee for Peace and Order in March 2022 – an organ of collaboration with the Russian occupation in Kherson Oblast. Finally, the EU imposes sanctions on The politicians, propagandists, CEOs and family members people who have already been sanctioned. The former gymnast and member of the State Duma Alina Kabaeva is also on the list as a close associate of President Vladimir Putin.

The 18 sanctioned entities include various companies supporting, directly or indirectly, the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation and the Government of the Russian Federation, including Russia’s largest securities depository, the National Repository of Regulations.

In total, the EU restrictive measures now apply to a total of 1,158 people and 98 entities. Designated persons are subject to asset freezeand EU citizens and businesses are prohibited from making funds available for them. Individuals are also subject to a travel banwhich prevents them from entering or transiting EU territories.

The EU strongly condemns Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine. It urges Russia to immediately cease its indiscriminate attacks on civilians and civilian infrastructure and to immediately and unconditionally withdraw all its troops and military equipment from all Ukrainian territory within its internationally recognized borders. The atrocities committed by the Russian forces and the suffering and destruction inflicted are indescribable. The EU calls on Russia to allow immediate humanitarian access and safe passage for all affected civilians. It also calls on Russia to immediately allow the safe return of forcibly deported Ukrainians to Russia.

The European Union is unwavering in its commitment to help Ukraine exercise its natural right of self-defence against Russian aggression and to build a peaceful, democratic and prosperous future.

The relevant legal acts, including the names of the listed persons and entities, have been published in the Official Journal of the EU.


Comments are closed.